Report of the Directors

Board of Directors

Tim Stevenson, OBE

Chairman, age 65; joined Johnson Matthey as Chairman Designate in March 2011; appointed Chairman in July 2011. He was Chairman of The Morgan Crucible Company plc from December 2006 to July 2012 and was Chairman of Travis Perkins plc from November 2001 to May 2010. From 1975 to 2000 he held a variety of senior management positions at Burmah Castrol plc, including Chief Executive from 1998 to 2000. He is a qualified barrister and is Lord Lieutenant of Oxfordshire. M, N.

Neil Carson

Chief Executive, age 56; joined Johnson Matthey in 1980; appointed Division Director, Catalytic Systems in 1997 after having held senior management positions in the Precious Metals Division as well as Catalytic Systems in both the UK and the US. Appointed to the board as Managing Director, Catalysts & Chemicals in August 1999. Appointed Chief Executive in July 2004. Currently a non-executive director of AMEC plc.

Robert MacLeod

Group Finance Director, age 49; joined Johnson Matthey in 2009. Previously he was Group Finance Director of WS Atkins plc and worked in a variety of senior financial roles at Enterprise Oil plc. He is currently a non-executive director of Aggreko plc and is a Chartered Accountant.

Michael Roney

Senior Independent Director and Chairman of the Management Development and Remuneration Committee, age 58; appointed a non-executive director in June 2007. Currently Chief Executive of Bunzl plc. Joined Bunzl plc as a non-executive director in 2003. Prior to becoming Chief Executive of Bunzl he was the Chief Executive Officer of Goodyear Dunlop Tires Europe BV and had an extensive career with the Goodyear Tire and Rubber Co holding a number of senior management positions with responsibilities in Latin America, Asia, Eastern Europe, the Middle East and Africa. A, M, N

Alan Ferguson

Chairman of the Audit Committee, age 55; appointed a non-executive director in January 2011. Currently a non-executive director of Croda International Plc, The Weir Group PLC and London Mining Plc (where he is chairman of their respective audit committees). He was previously Chief Financial Officer and a Director of Lonmin Plc. Prior to joining Lonmin, he was Group Finance Director of The BOC Group until late 2006 when the Linde Group acquired BOC. Before joining BOC in 2005, he worked for Inchcape plc for 22 years in a variety of roles including Group Finance Director from 1999 until his departure. He is a Chartered Accountant. A, M, N

Colin Matthews

Age 57; appointed a non-executive director in October 2012. Currently Chief Executive Officer of Heathrow Airport Holdings Limited, Colin was previously Group Chief Executive of Hays Group plc and then Group Chief Executive of Severn Trent plc. Earlier in his career he was Managing Director of BA Engineering for British Airways plc and then Executive Director of Lattice Group plc. He is a former non-executive director of Mondi plc. A, M, N

Dorothy Thompson

Age 52; appointed a non-executive director in September 2007. Currently Chief Executive of Drax Group plc. Joined the board of Drax Group plc as Chief Executive in 2005. Prior to joining Drax she was head of the European business of the global power generation firm, InterGen. First starting her career in banking she has had senior management roles in the UK, Asia and Africa. A, M, N

Larry Pentz

Executive Director, age 58; joined Johnson Matthey in 1984; appointed Division Director, Process Catalysts and Technologies in 2001 after having held a series of senior management positions within Johnson Matthey in the US. Appointed Executive Director, Process Catalysts and Technologies in August 2003, Executive Director, Emission Control Technologies in July 2004 and Executive Director, Environmental Technologies in April 2009. Currently a non-executive director of Victrex plc.

Bill Sandford

Executive Director, Precious Metal Products, age 59; joined Johnson Matthey in 1977; appointed Division Director, Precious Metal Products in 2001 after holding a series of senior management positions within the division. Appointed Executive Director, Precious Metal Products in July 2009.

Simon Farrant

Company Secretary; joined Johnson Matthey from corporate legal practice in 1994. Appointed Company Secretary in 1999 and Group Legal Director in 2007. He is a Solicitor and Attorney & Counselor-at-Law (State of New York).

At the date of approval of this annual report, the Board of Directors of Johnson Matthey is as detailed above. As announced on 20th May 2013, with effect from 1st July 2013 Odile Desforges will join the board as a non-executive director.

As announced on 5th June 2013, with effect from 9th October 2013 Bill Sandford will retire as an executive director of the company and John Walker will join the board as an executive director.

Committees of the Board

Audit Committee
Management Development
and Remuneration Committee
Nomination Committee
Back to top